God’s goodness at 24 weeks

“Progress.” “Improvement.” “Better.” These are the words my doctor used when she reviewed my little darling’s ultrasound with us yesterday evening. The doctor said our son is changing, growing, and developing, much more “normally” now, with only slightly elevated growth levels in his kidney, choroid plexus, and ventricles. She said he is not in the clear yet, but if he continues to show these kinds of improvements, his risk level will grow lower and lower.

24 weeks

To me, he looked just as he should. Two tiny little hands with five distinguishable little fingers on each fist. An incredibly active four-chamber heart pumping for dear life. We even caught him yawning a few times and waving at us, as if to assure us that he’s not worried about anything.

I never grow tired of seeing his precious frame and hearing his rapid, little heart beat. He may just be another appointment for the ultrasound technician, or another statistic in this hospital, but not to me and Brent. He’s our son. He is beloved, cherished, and has a permanent place of belonging in our family. We have so many hopes, desires, and longings for him. It makes me marvel to think that our love for this dear little boy is just a small glimpse at how our heavenly Father cares for us.

“…I have redeemed you; I have called you by name, you are mine (Isaiah 43:1).” I have found so much comfort in the nearness of God these last few days, knowing that His care for me far outshines the yearnings I have for my sweet little baby. I have found rest under the shelter of His wings (Ps. 91:4-5), and have been satisfied daily by His goodness toward me at how our heavenly Father cares for us.

“Oh, how abundant is your goodness, which you have stored up for those who fear you and worked for those who take refuge in you… In the cover of your presence you hide them from the plots of men; you store them in your shelter from the strife of tongues. Blessed be the Lord, for he has wondrously shown his steadfast love tome (Psalm 31:19-21).”
~Bekah

3 thoughts on “God’s goodness at 24 weeks

  1. God is our comfort and our strength through every situation. He blesses us mightily in ways deeper than we can fathom. I thank you sharing your amazing faith and continuous praises for His works.

  2. Keeping you all in prayer! Trust,faith so much a part of this season and of life! Hold strong, be strong, know that He will see You through it all!

Leave a Reply

