Not there yet

pregoAfter my last ultrasound, my doctor assured me that our sweet baby boy was “in the clear,” however that is not entirely true…

At 38 weeks pregnant, I had my (assumedly) last ultrasound yesterday. Today my doctor reviewed the results with me.

Though two of the three problems on my little baby boy’s body have completely disappeared, there still remains a problem with his kidneys. And in the words of my doctor, the “problem has become even more pronounced than before.” My doctor assured me that this sort of problem is not reflective of a genetic defect, but it is indicative of a developmental complication that cannot be sufficiently diagnosed or addressed until my son is born.

Because of the nature of his problem, they decided to perform a “stress test” on my little darling to affirm that he is doing well in utero, and he passed the test with flying colors. So long as he continues to pass the “stress test,” they will allow me to carry him until he makes a natural arrival (up to 2 weeks post due-date). After birth, they will perform an ultrasound on him directly to discern exactly what is wrong and how to address it.

My joy at seeing his chubby, little face on the foggy ultrasound machine screen mixes with maternal concern for my unborn son. As a mother, I want to care for my boy, protect him, and shelter him from harm, but as a finite human being, I realize that I simply don’t have the ability to rescue him from all of life’s pain. With every wiggle and kick my precious little boy makes in my tummy comes a yearning for him to be alright, and the realization that I cannot make it be alright. This has been one of the most difficult, but necessary, lesson for me to learn.

I am not strong or able, but I serve a God who is both.

I tremble at a future that I do not know, but I worship a God who knows and controls the future.

I am learning dependence on the Lord, yet I am so very slow to learn. But God is faithful to remind me. In His goodness, God has worked in my heart, while simultaneously healing so much of my little boy’s body. Both of these things are equally miraculous. Both of these things ought to move me to praise Him. I am slowly realizing that fear is a foolish feeling because I know that the Lord is good. And fear is foolish because I know that God has always sustained me through every one of life’s challenges.

“The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life; of whom shall I be afraid? I believe that I shall look upon the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living! Wait for the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord! (Psalm 27:1, 13-14)”

11 thoughts on “Not there yet

  1. Your testimony is powerful for all of us, Bekah. Thank you for sharing from your heart. I, too, long to hold your precious son in my arms…my precious, “newest” grandson. love from mom hisayasu

  2. Hi Sweet Bekah I am Laura Sylvies Aunt Sandy and have been following your story and family pictures. I have chated with Laura about you. I have and are praying for you and your precious baby boy and family. What a
    true lady of faith you are. I can’t wait until that precious boy is born…healed and a true testimony for our precious hevenly Father.

  3. Dear Bekah, What a journey this pregnancy has taken you on. It has strengthened you and others in the faith of our Lord Jesus Christ. I continue to pray for you all and will rejoice along with everyone as we see just how God’s plan for baby boy #3 Hisayasu plays out. The verses you closed your blog with today are the same ones I clung to 21 years ago when my son was born. His word is faithful and true!!
    Love from Carrie Hilliger

  4. Thank you so much for praying with us! We are more than excited to meet our little boy and to see what the Lord has in store for his future.
    -Bekah

  5. Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google,
    and found that it is really informative. I’m gonna watch
    out for brussels. I will be grateful if you continue this in future.
    Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  6. When your unit is out of warranty, there is nothing halting you to jailbreak your
    gadget. Makes applications think that they are on Wi-Fi,
    and not 3G. The only issue is how prolonged it will take.

  7. Make sure you avail your self of the absolutely free provide and have a fantastic working
    day! Then you can improve iTunes8, bonjour, swift time and other
    Iphone services. Go to Cydia.com and click on the update button.

  8. You can also visit some online buying and auction websites and discover a refurbished Apple iphone and bid
    for it there. But the Apple iphone only functions with iTunes, and iTunes gained’t run on Ubuntu.

Leave a Reply

