God is still working

I wanted to update you all on our little miracle Micah.

Picture0422132155_1First, THANK you all for your prayers! We have been overwhelmed by the support and encouragement of so many believers around the world. Thank you for praying. Thank you for believing that our God is able. And thank you for rejoicing with us in the life our precious little boy.

God has continued to work in little Micah’s life over the past 3 week that he has been in this world. As was mentioned before, Micah was scanned in the hospital the day after he was born, revealing he still had mild swelling on his kidneys. But since he was soiling sufficient diapers, the doctors let us take him home with follow up doctors appointments every few days. What I failed to report is that exactly one week after Micah entered our world we received a call from Micah’s pediatrician informing us that that Micah failed to pass his one-week blood test.

As we’ve been learning, an important function of the kidneys is to filter potassium and sodium. We often hear about the dangers of sodium, but what I didn’t understand before all of this is that high levels of potassium are also very dangerous. Micah’s high potassium levels began to cause a full body “twitch” that the doctor warned us, if it continued, could lead to serious long-term problems. We had to monitor his movements closely, counting the duration of each spasm. Micah’s pediatrician instructed us to take Micah to the ER immediately if: 1) he was lethargic 2) he cried without consolation for “too long” 3) he “twitched for too long” or he was 4) vomiting, constipated, or had a high fever.

Needless to say, most babies fall into the first two categories at some point during their early days, and the doctor was unable to define with any certainty what “too long” was. She said if I got the sense that he was acting abnormally, not to hesitate to take him to the hospital. And I must confess; sleep deprived and exhausted, this responsibility weighed on me like a ton of bricks. I felt overwhelmed, under-prepared, and ill-equipped for the vigilance required in caring for my precious baby boy.

And I began to wonder if Micah may never be healthy after all…

But then, at Micah’s two week test last Tuesday, the results showed that God wasn’t done intervening in the life of little Micah. In one weeks time, Micah’s levels completely balanced. Both his sodium and potassium levels were suddenly “completely normal.”

Micah at 2 weeks old
Micah at 2 weeks old

Again, God healed little Micah.

Why did I ever worry? Surely the Lord has done enough in my son’s very short life to prove to me that He is in control and that He answers prayers. And yet, I spent a week with worry and became discouraged. I took my eyes off the Lord. It took me one week to practically forget all that God had done and wonder if there wasn’t some detail of my son’s situation that God might have forgotten. How wrong of me. How very shortsighted. The Maker of the moon and stars knew about Micah’s “twitch”, and this most recent blood test is another testimony that He has, yet again, answered the prayers of two very helpless parents. God graciously gave our little boy health for another week.

And this time, I don’t want to forget.

Micah’s urologist (kidney doctor), is scheduling another ultrasound in the near future to try to uncover the reason for this change. He suspects that the balanced levels in his blood is a sign of improvement that will only strengthen with time. I don’t put my confidence in a doctor’s suspicion, but I do know that God has continually supplied for all of Micah’s needs thus far, and we can depend on Him to care for Micah’s future.

“My soul will be satisfied as with fat and rich food, and my mouth will praise you with joyful lips, when I remember you upon my bed, and meditate on you in the watches of the night; for you have been my help, and in the shadow of your wings I will sing for joy. (Ps 63:5-7)”

4 thoughts on “God is still working

  1. thank you for sharing this, as always, it is an encouragement to remember God’s faithfulness, and to always keep my eyes on Him, instead of my circumstances, we continue to pray for dear Micah, and praise our Savior for his faithfulness, and your humility and honesty, you are a blessing!

  2. Congratulations to you on the arrival of your precious son, Micah. We are thrilled with God’s undertaking for his life and health. What a blessing to your family and those who have witnessed this miracle.

Leave a Reply

